Uncategorized

Sunday Funday

Guess what I did this weekend?

Sundays are usually spent sipping on multiple cups of coffee and catching up on fake news with Jon Stewart. This Sunday was different.

I found myself along 16th Street Mall, people watching and drinking a lot of coffee. Denver needs to step up and allow for public drinking.

Highlight of the weekend was watching Yellow Designs Stunt Team do tricks all over 16th and Larimer for the Meet in the Street on August 10th. I never cared for BMX, but these guys put on a show and I watched every moment of it, squealing like a child after too many sodapops.

Then this happened. When people drink too much delicious beer and enjoy too many slices of Mellow Mushroom pizza. Warn your kids, keep them away from pizza!

At that point, I really felt a twinge of regret for not learning how to ride more than a mountain bike on my work commute.

Check out the album HERE. I tried getting that stupid clock tower in the background.

Some notable observations:

  1. I saw a homeless girl, or a hip young thing that looked exactly like Arya Stark. She traveled alongside some homeless “guardian” who snarled at me when I looked at her. I wanted to tell her that the Lannisters didn’t send me.
  2. I also saw a man who looked like Mark from Peep Show. His awkward doe eyes shone with fright when I grinned and marched towards him. I wanted a damn picture. When I picked up my pace, he fled like a scared little deer. Alas, I couldn’t catch a good picture of him fleeing the scene. Too many cops on the streets. I’ll get him one day.
  3. There is a serious lack of parental supervision on the 16th Street Mall. I watched high schoolers march around wearing underwear. One girl dressed like Harley Quinn from Batma: Arkham City. No, there was no comic conference anywhere nearby, no nerdy gathering to grant some situational legitimacy to her getup. She looked 15. The middle school and high school boys dressed like they were homeless. I don’t understand this fad.

I feel old.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Funday

  1. HA! The wonders of 16th Street Mall, I never fail to see something I have never seen before there. Sometimes I think it would be fun to take my mom and grandma down there just to see their reactions LOL

Leave a comment